Our History

The Town of Greater Napanee was created by an Order of Amalgamation (PDF) which took effect on January 1, 1998. The amalgamation combined the former Townships of Adolphustown, North Fredericksburgh, South Fredericksburgh, Richmond and the Town of Napanee.


The Town is divided into 5 wards, number 1 through 5, which originally followed the former township and town municipal boundaries. Today, these ward boundaries have been realigned somewhat from the original municipal boundaries. Please see the ward map (PDF).